What Happens at a Conference?

2014 10 25 18.26.40 Haircut chalkboard, October 25, 2014, 6:26 p.m.

After his haircut, he showed me what he previously wrote on the salon’s chalkboard while I got my haircut, October 25, 2014, 6:26 p.m.

From Daddy: This morning, around 5 a.m. or 5:30 a.m., he walked right up to me while I was in bed.

I wondered if he had wet his bed. He said that he didn’t and that he was here in order to snuggle. I invited him into the bed.

(We have two kinds of snuggles: A “family snuggle” and also a “boy snuggle” without Mommy. There is probably a name for the snuggle with Mommy when I’m not around, but I don’t know it.)

In bed, he asked, “Daddy, what happens at a conference?”

Thursday

Two nights ago, I mentioned to him that I had a conference to attend the following morning and Saturday that I would prefer to leave the house early.

Friday

I set my alarm extra early. When he eventually rose, we had a relatively normal morning, but he inquired how early I would like to leave. I was glad that he remembered what I had said.

I dropped him off at school before 7:30 and made it to the conference (cached link) just ten minutes late.

After my conference, I met him and Mommy at Elephant Bar to which he’d apparently been bugging Mommy to take him all week. I arrived early since my conference ended before his session at The First Tee. When I received Mommy’s text message that they were on the way from the parking lot, I stepped outside the restaurant and watched them approach. He skipped and ran happily, and also tried to scale the wall of JC Penny; he climbed it about four feet before he listened to the order to get down. He also tried to climb street signs. Still, it made me smile to see him so happy.

JCPenney at Serramonte; notice the climbable rock formations on the wall. When I approached, he smiled to me and declared, 'Rock climbing!'

JCPenney at Serramonte; notice the climbable rock formations on the wall. When I approached, he smiled to me and declared, “Rock climbing!”

This Morning, In the Dark

I explained to him that a conference is a polite meeting. My conference today was more structured like a classroom where I learn things.

This Afternoon

2014 10 25 12.47.06 Swimming, October 25, 2014, 12:47 p.m.

I missed his swimming class because I attended the conference, October 25, 2014, 12:47 p.m.

This Evening

When I arrived home, he was very eager to play with me. Mommy, however, informed us that we needed to buy chili powder at the grocery store.

Chili powder, the missing ingredient

Chili powder, the missing ingredient

When I told him that I needed to buy something at the grocery store and invited him with me, he grew very sad; he really looked forward to playing with me. So, I agreed to play “wall ball”/handball (using the ball that he won at the carnival game at Gilroy Gardens) for a few minutes, and then he agreed to join me on my shopping run.

Safeway, Noriega Street

Safeway, Noriega Street

We drove to the grocery store (waving and giving our love to Ga-Ga and Di-Di as we drove past their house) and executed our shopping plan. He was well-behaved and very happy. As a reward, I allowed him to hunt for his favorite cereal. He initially grabbed Lucky Charms but we found Fruity Pebbles; he’s not sure what is his favorite cereal, but the unknown favorite cereal is rainbow and Fruity Pebbles seemed close enough this evening. I agreed to allow him to enjoy Fruity Pebbles tomorrow for breakfast.

When we arrived home, we played a bit, and then we walked to Irving Street for impromptu haircuts.

2014 10 25 18.09.02 Haircut, October 25, 2014, 6:09 p.m.

Our sweatshirts are on the right side of the frame, Game 4 of the World Series plays in the upper right; the Giants would soon lose their 1-0 lead in the game when the Royals would score four in one inning, October 25, 2014, 6:09 p.m.

He happily skipped down the sidewalk.

2014 10 25 18.15.31 Haircut, October 25, 2014, 6:15 p.m.

He did a great job sitting still during the haircut, October 25, 2014, 6:15 p.m.

We had to duck into a driveway after a few blocks of walking when slight rain begin. We donned our sweatshirts and finished our journey.

2014 10 25 18.19.29 Haircut, October 25, 2014, 6:19 p.m.

He eventually complained about my taking photos of his haircut, October 25, 2014, 6:19 p.m.

I didn’t rain on the way home, and he was happy about that too.

2014 10 25 18.23.49 Haircut, October 26, 2014, 6:23 p.m.

Smock falling off, October 26, 2014, 6:23 p.m.

Leave a comment

Filed under Swimming

Leave a Reply

