Build Me Up Buttercup


(or click https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l5VGIstEMho to watch the cuteness)

From Daddy: Two days ago (Wednesday), his afterschool program put on an evening show (“The Spring Sing”) in which each of the classes sang and performed.

GLO Spring Sing - Robert eating, May 21, 2014, 5:28 p.m.

We didn’t let him go to the afterschool program directly from class but rather took him home first. When I brought him to school around 5:15 p.m., he was somewhat out of sorts because he did not easily fit into what the kids were already doing–beginning a dinner party with pizza, fruit, and chicken nuggets. I helped him ease in by telling a teacher that he wanted pizza. He was given chicken nuggets until the pizza was ready and that helped him situate, May 21, 2014, 5:28 p.m.

As I waited for the show to begin, a fourth-grade mom sat beside me. She would ask how was our year (that is nearly at a close…sniff!). I said that it was great, but I should have said that it was magical.

GLO Spring Sing - Kinder Sign, May 21, 2014

Spring Sing Sign, May 21, 2014

The performance was great and he did so well!

2014 05 22 GLO Buttercup, May 22, 2014

During the performance, the kids wore an oversized white T-shirt. The boys had paper buttercups pinned to their fronts while the girls had one in their hair. The next morning, his before school teacher offered me one of the buttercups, May 22, 2014

This morning (Friday), he and a few classmates held a special performance for the middle schoolers that help up before school.


(or click https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KH0tFY5dlNo

Anyway, before I left The Spring Sing, I asked the fourth grade mom if she’d like me to provide a copy of the fourth-graders’ performance. She declined, but if ever sees this blog post, the performances of the other classes during The Spring Sing are at the end below.

This Evening

He’s afraid that he’ll miss one of his best friends if his best friend doesn’t do well enough in school to be promoted to the next grade as he will.

This Morning

2014 05 23 GLO Connect 4 1, May 23, 2014, 8:14 a.m.

Happy to be able to play Connect 4 during his before school program; he won this game. By the way, he was wearing his Despicable Me 2 pajama top for pajama/school spirit day, May 23, 2014, 8:14 a.m.

Two Mornings Ago

2014 05 21 GLO Connect 4 4, May 21, 2014, 7:57 a.m.

Happy to be able to play Connect 4 during his before school program. I don’t recall the outcome of this game. By the way, he was wearing his near-Hawaiian shirt for Hawaii/school spirit day, May 21, 2014, 7:57 a.m.

Four Mornings Ago

I brought him to the before-school program. He began to play Connect 4 against a teacher while I left the classroom to sign the attendance binder. By the time I returned, he had already won.

Last Week

I stayed at the Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City for a conference from last Tuesday until Friday. On Friday morning, I took the following videos:

My group had dinner outside in the center courtyard shown in the video above. It was beautiful with perfect weather in the low 70s. I would have loved to have shared the beautiful flowers with him (because he loves to look at flowers). (Click https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hVwNK6215NI to see them too).

There was also a neat toy store inside the hotel. I guess that I’m glad that I didn’t have to take him inside the store, but the exterior display windows were great. (Click https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7wy3zW2rhI and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PUsx9wyTdKg to see them yourself.)

Earlier in the week, I had to go to the City Creek Center Mall where I encountered this fountain show:


(or click https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TNlzPZ8JuTc on your mobile device)

The Spring Sing

GLO Spring Sing - 1st Grade Sign, May 21, 2014





GLO Spring Sing - 5th Grade Sign, May 21, 2014

Leave a comment

Filed under General Beanie stuff, Video

Leave a Reply

