Short Weekend Followed by a Long Night

From Daddy:

Weekend

This past weekend, we enjoyed a visit from Jennie, Kayla, Cristian, and Aaron. They arrived on Saturday. We walked on the Golden Gate Bridge, visit Fisherman’s Wharf and Pier 39, and drove through Chinatown on Sunday. While I was at work, they enjoyed the Hyde Street Pier on Monday and they left yesterday morning.

Robert loved Cristian and the two were fast friends and playmates. During breakfast in the mornings, he would tell me, “I want them to come up” (they stayed downstairs). When he heard Cristian emerge from downstairs, Robert told me, “I want to see him.” Here’s a video of Robert seeking Cristian’s approval during snack time on Sunday:


(or click http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rP9R6Hxh4EQ on your mobile device)

Robert tolerated Kayla (sort of; he stood up and moved to another part of the sofa when she sat next to him while Cristian played the Wii).

Robert did not like Aaron, though. Aaron really liked Robert initially, even giving his chest a cute little kiss once. Robert didn’t like that Aaron was grabbing at and/or knocking over toys that Robert set up. Robert locked Aaron in his bedroom (I heard Aaron’s cries. Robert told me that he didn’t want Aaron to come out.) Also, during a father-son dinner on Sunday night, Robert told me, “Uhhhh, Daddy? I sowwy that I threw an instwument at Aaron’s head.”

Pink Eye

However, yesterday Robert showed symptoms of Pink Eye and a diagnosis by Dr. Chan (Robert’s pediatrician whom Robert does indeed know by name) confirmed it. Robert needs eye drops for a week (and he fears eye drops).

A Long Night

Overnight was a long night because Robert woke and jumped into our bed around 2:15 a.m. (I had woken around 1:15 a.m. and had trouble getting back to sleep, so I was already tired). By the three o’clock hour, I persuade Robert to join me in his bed, hoping for better luck. I gave up and turned on his light, allowing him to read. In the four o’clock hour, I left and told him that I would return to my bed.

In the five o’clock hour, he called for me, upset that I didn’t answer his initial calls (because somehow I fell asleep again). He couldn’t find Elmo though he found him right away on his shelf (buried by other stuffed animals). He wanted to bowl in his bedroom, but I convinced him to play in the living room. He returned to our bedroom and fell asleep with us. I got another hour of sleep before I woke up for good.

He fell asleep quite easily tonight because he was sleepy. Now I’m off to bed to bank some rest in case he wakes up overnight!

One Year Ago

Here were Mommy and Robert. Robert was riding this blue cow as we, Grandpa, and Grandma Pam were waiting for our turn at the breakfast restaurant.

Blue cow Berkeley 3, October 3, 2010, 10:02 a.m.

Blue cow in Berkeley, October 3, 2010, 10:02 a.m.

Two Years Ago

While Ga-Ga was playing with the exersaucer, was Robert yawning?

Exersaucer, October 4, 2009, 1:07 p.m.

Exersaucer, October 4, 2009, 1:07 p.m.

Pork Bun 3, October 4, 2009, 1:05 p.m.

In line for a pork bun with Ga-Ga, October 4, 2009, 1:05 p.m.

Pork Bun 5, October 4, 2009, 1:06 p.m.

Yum, October 4, 2009, 1:06 p.m.

Pork Bun 2, October 3, 2009, 1:05 p.m.

Happy Ga-Ga, October 3, 2009, 1:05 p.m.

Pork Bun 9, October 4, 2009, 1:09 p.m.

Hey, Ga-Ga, what are you eating?, October 4, 2009, 1:09 p.m.

Three Years Ago

Robert laughing with Judy, October 5, 2008, 4:59 p.m.

Robert laughing with Judy, October 5, 2008, 4:59 p.m.

Robert with Judy, October 5, 2008, 4:59 p.m.

Robert with Judy, October 5, 2008, 4:59 p.m.

Uncle Albert holds Robert 2, October 5, 2008, 2:24 p.m.

Uncle Albert holds tiny Robert, October 5, 2008, 2:24 p.m.

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating, Video

Leave a Reply

