Walk walk

From Brian:

Boston Market Laughing, May 27, 2010, 7:02 p.m.

Preparing to burst into laughter during our dinner out

Recovering Robert

Robert is recovering from a cold that he’s had for the past few days. (In fact, in retrospect, Robert probably began to fall ill on Sunday because he coughed a lot during our walk, recall https://beanieblog.wordpress.com/2010/05/23/happy-mothers-day-part-7-mommys-day-off.) We’ve propped up one end of his crib’s mattress so that he can sleep elevated.

He’s feeling better today. This morning, for example, when I got him out of bed, I was cautiously optimistic. This afternoon, I spoke with Mommy, and she confirmed that he had felt better today. Mommy would go out tonight, leaving Robert and I to handle dinner ourselves.

When I come home from work, I figured that Robert and I would rummage through the refrigerator and find stuff to eat. However, Robert grabbed the pair of my shoes that I had removed and insisted that I put them back on. “Walk walk?” he asked. “Walk walk.” So basically, Robert wanted to go out!

“How about we go for a drive?” I asked Robert.

He agreed.

When we arrived at the restaurant, there was quite a line for food service, so I scooped up a high chair, sat Robert inside, and pushed him around with me in line. I had to keep a hand on the high chair the whole time because:

  • He figured out that if he tried to scoot forward in the high chair, he could make it lurch an inch forward—not enough to be dangerous and just enough to have naughty fun.
  • Also, as we approached the cash register, he was able to grab onto a handle below the counter to pull himself and the high chair forward and then he would push himself backward with his feet. And then he repeated. And then again. Sigh. It was cute and funny, though.

Above is a video from dinner. He didn’t eat much, but he enjoyed eating some cornbread and then pushing crumbs onto the ground. (Click http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z2pv7J4h58o to watch directly.)

He was in good spirits tonight, so we were happy.

Thank You Daddy

After getting him out of bed first thing this morning, changing his diaper, and leading him to the kitchen, I handed him a bottle of milk. He said, “Thank you, Daddy!” Awwwwww. He’s sweetly thanked me a few times like that in the past week or so, but I love it.

One Year Ago Today

Sitting on the grass, May 27, 2009, 4:38 p.m.

Sitting on the grass

Asleep on the play mat, May 26, 2009, 3:52 p.m.

Napping on a down throw on his old foam play mat

Asleep on the play mat 1, May 26, 2009, 3:52 p.m.

The empty water bottle in the upper left was a toy he enjoyed. The object in the lower right was his Easter Basket.

Mess in the high chair, May 27, 2009, 6:55 p.m.

Mess in the high chair at dinner

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating, General Beanie stuff, Sleeping, Video

Leave a Reply

