My First Father’s Day

Dinner 2, June 21, 2009, 5:34 p.m.

Dinner 2, June 21, 2009, 5:34 p.m.

From Brian: This was my first Father’s Day (at least, my first Father’s Day in which I could hold Robert in my arms). Every day with Robert is a Father’s Day present!

We played in the morning, and Robert slowly descended into uncharacteristic crankiness. Partially, we think, because of the long and tiring day yesterday at Muir Woods and the Point Bonita Lighthouse and also because he’s trying to get over his ear infections. His mommy convinced him to sleep, and the family took a late morning nap. I was so happy and content. As I could feel the warmth of my baby son beside me, I thought, “This is what a Father’s Day should be!”

Family nap, happy daddy, June 21, 2009, 10:49 a.m.

Family nap, happy daddy, June 21, 2009, 10:49 a.m.

What more could a father want than to see this angelic face?

Sleepy beauty, June 21, 2009, 11:09 a.m.

Sleepy beauty, June 21, 2009, 11:09 a.m.

He was happy when he woke, but eventually regained his crankiness. His Mommy says that he often cheers up when he leaves the house. We had planned to go to the Zoo today, but Robert was feeling out of sorts. While he is beginning to recover from his ear infections, I was reluctant to expose him to allergens and animal matter in the air. I decided that we would walk around a mall, so we drove to The Shops at Tanfaran. We walked around and enjoyed being a family. Afterward, we had an early dinner during which we learned:

  • He will barely tolerate tofu (he ate two small pieces and bounced the rest on the floor).
  • He loved kidney beans before I offered him sourdough bread and potatoes
  • He prefers peas as carpet decorations rather than food.
  • He enjoys edamame beans only slightly more than peas.
  • Sometimes, he will eat garbanzo beans. Sometimes, he needs to be tricked into eating them.
  • He likes sourdough bread and corn bread.
  • He loves baked potatoes.
  • No matter what, he will eat Cheerios.

Here is the mess he left behind:

Rejected food, June 21, 2009, 5:35 p.m.

Rejected food, June 21, 2009, 5:35 p.m.

He alternated crankiness and laughter on the way home. Finally, we bathed him and put him to bed. As I held him and gave him a bedtime bottle, I snuggled into him and said that we should end my Father’s Day on a happy note. He responded by drinking his bottle quickly and going to sleep without resistance. I held him just a bit longer before putting him into his crib.

Robert reminds his Mommy and me of the joy and beauty in life every day. We know that we are very lucky parents.

Dinner 1, June 21, 2009, 5:34 p.m. 1

Dinner 1, June 21, 2009, 5:34 p.m. 1

1 Comment

Filed under General Beanie stuff, Life at Home

One response to “My First Father’s Day

  1. AUNTIE BRANDEE

    Happy FIRST Fathers Day Brian!!!!
    your right, every day is “parents day” mom & dad alike…I heard a quote from a celebrity parent that he recieved from his dad “the days may be long, but the years are very short”…and it is so true- the quote came from Joey Laurence-WHOA
    Robert is a doll…..glad you enjoyed the day with your family
    love,
    The East Coast family
    Brandee, Mark,Mattias,Ronan, & Marcel

Leave a Reply

